• GYSS 2018 Speakers

    Nobel Prize, Turing Award, Field's Medal and Millennial Technology Prize Recipients

    To book an interview with one of the following scientists, between 20-26 Jan 2018, please email illka@pinpointpr.sg.

    Prof Ada Yonath

    Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2009)

    Martin S. and Helen Kimmel Professorial Chair at the Weizmann Institute of Science

    Topics: Crystallographer, ribosomes

    Prof Brian Schmidt

    Nobel Prize in Physics (2011)

    Vice-Chancellor, Australian National University

    Topics: Astronomy, astrophysicist, SkyMapper telescope Project, Southern Sky Survey


    Prof Claude Cohen-Tannoudji

    Nobel Prize in Physics (1997)

    École Normale Supérieure

    Topics: Methods of laser cooling and trapping atoms


    Prof Duncan Haldane

    Nobel Prize in Physics (2016)

    Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics, Princeton

    Topics: Physics, Chern-Simons and quantum geometry


    Prof Efim Zelmanov

    Fields Medal (1994)

    Board of Trustees Professor of Chemistry, University of California, San Diego; Distinguished Professor at the Korea Institute for Advanced Study

    Topics: Combinatorial problems in nonassociative algebra and group theory, including his solution of the restricted Burnside problem


    Prof Frances Arnold

    Millennium Technology Prize (2016)

    Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering and Biochemistry; Director, Donna and Benjamin M. Rosen Bioengineering Center, California Institute of Technology

    Topics: Directed evolution to create useful biological systems, including enzymes, metabolic pathways, genetic regulatory circuits, and organisms


    Prof François Englert

    Nobel Prize in Physics (2013)

    Professor Emeritus, Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB)

    Topics: Higgs-Boson; theoretical physicist; statistical physics, quantum field theory, cosmology, string theory and supergravity; Holocaust Survivor


    Sir Fraser Stoddart

    Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2016)

    Board of Trustees Professor of Chemistry, head of the Stoddart Mechanostereochemistry Group in the Department of Chemistry, Northwestern University

    Topics: Silicon batteries; Developed highly efficient syntheses of mechanically-interlocked molecular architectures


    Prof Hartmut Michel

    Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1988)

    Director of the Molecular Membrane Biology department, Max Planck Institute for Biophysics

    Topics: Solar energy; Biochemistry; Crystallisation of membrane proteins


    Prof John Hopcroft

    Turing Award (1986)

    IBM Professor of Engineering and Applied Mathematics, Cornell University

    Topics: Data Science; Chinese Undergraduate education; Bad Actors; theoretical computer scientist; theory of computation and data structures


    Prof Klaus von Klitzing

    Nobel Prize in Physics (1985)

    Department Head, Low Dimensional Electron Systems, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research

    Topics: Integer quantum Hall effect; OHM


    Prof Martin Chalfie

    Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2008)

    University Professor, Columbia University

    Topics: Discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP


    Sir Michael Francis Atiyah

    Fields Medal (1966)

    Honorary Professor, University of Edinburgh

    Topics: Geometry; Developing K-theory, A generalized Lefschetz fixed-point theorem and the Atiyah–Singer theorem


    Prof Michael Grätzel

    Millennium Technology Prize (2010)

    Professor, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

    Topics: Solar enery; Ultra-stable perovskite solar cell; pioneered research on energy and electron transfer reactions in mesoscopic-materials and their optoelectronic applications; co-invented the Grätzel cell and pioneered the use of nanomaterials in lithium ion batteries


    Prof Randy Schekman

    Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (2013)

    Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

    Topics: Cell membrane vesicle trafficking


    Sir Timothy Hunt

    Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (2001)

    Emeritus Group Leader, Francis Crick Institute

    Topics: Biochemist and molecular physiologist; Discoveries of protein molecules that control the division of cells; Cyclin


    Prof Stuart Parkin

    Millennium Technology (2014)

    Director, Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics; consulting professor in the Department of Applied Physics at Stanford University and director of the IBM-Stanford Spintronic Science and Applications Center; professor at the Institute of Physics of the Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg

    Topics: Spintronics; magnetoelectronics


    Prof Sydney Brenner

    Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (2002)

    Senior Fellow, Janelia Farm Research Campus of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI)

    Topics: Biologist; He established the roundworm Caenorhabditis elegans as a model organism for the investigation of developmental biology


    Prof Takaaki Kajita

    Nobel Prize in Physics (2015)

    Principal Investigator, Kamioka Observatory

    Topics: Gravitational waves; discovered that the enigmatic subatomic particles known as neutrinos have mass; Neutrino experiments; KAGRA gravitational wave; Experimenting with Kamiokande to see if protons, the building blocks of ordinary matter, would decay (they have not, so far).


    Prof Thomas Südhof

    Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (2013)

    Professor, School of Medicine in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Physiology, and by courtesy in Neurology, and in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University

    Topics: Synaptic transmission


All Posts